Sunshine Eggs

With a late call time for work of 10am this morning, I woke up full of positive energy and ready for a run. Within minutes of hopping out of bed, hydrating with a litre of water, and fuelling up I was out the door, breathing in the fresh air and moving my body. Just myself, the birds and the sun. There is no better way to start the day if you ask me!

With plenty of free time before work I felt totally relaxed and decided to make myself a gorgeous breakfast. Feeling the sunny vibes I thought I’d try an revamp an old classic, folded eggs on toast, with a twist of turmeric. Adding turmeric gave my eggs a golden glow and the list of benefits that this spice provides will knock your socks off!

IMG_6698

Breakfast with a halo!

IMG_6695

Turmeric is a stunning yellow spice with a mild flavour so it’s perfect for brightening up any dish (I’ve even tried it in porridge).

  • It acts as a natural anti-inflammatory
  • helps repair cell damage – absolutely ideal post workout!
  • increases the body’s ability to absorb antioxidants
  • improves levels of serotonin – the happy chemical in our brains
  • and gives your skin a healthy boost

To make yourself a batch of sunshine eggs all you need is:

  • 3 free range eggs
  •  a slice of your favourite bread (I love a good slice of wholemeal seeded)
  •  tbsp of turmeric powder
  • a handful of spinach
  •  tsp of coconut oil

In a pan melt your coconut oil on a low heat. Once this is all melted and runny add a big handful of spinach and let it wilt down. In the meantime pop your chosen slice in the toaster and whisk your eggs together in a bowl. Once the eggs are whisked, add the turmeric and whisk once more until the potion turns a gorgeous golden colour. Pour the eggs over the spinach and gently fold them together as they cook on a low heat.

Once your toast is ready dress it with your folded eggs and voila. It really is that simple. Perfect for the morning and it’s left me feeling like a total goddess.

Turmeric is so easy to get a hold of too! I found this sachet for an absolute bargain of £1 in a little shop in London. There’s no need to spend an arm and a leg on health.

IMG_6694

I’ll leave you with another photo (just one more) because this dish really was a looker!

Lots of love,

Sophie x

IMG_6696

I'd love to hear your thoughts

