Surrey Half Marathon

Today I broke a personal record I never thought I’d break! I joined the sub 1:40 club with a new personal best of 1:39:06!

With my incredible friends from Royal Holloway Athletics we took on the Surrey Half Marathon and I couldn’t be more proud of everyone who took part. For several of our runners this was their first ever half and I’m so impressed with all of their amazing efforts. The feeling you get from racing is like nothing else, but when you share that experience and cheer each other on with every stride the vibes get multiplied by a million!

IMG_1103

A few months ago I was so injured that racing was something I feared would never be possible again. But today I proved myself wrong. I took a months rest. Followed by two months solid training. A week of seriously delicious carb loading. And voila! Dreams do come true!

But the greatest achievement of the race goes to my beautiful friend Alice. I knew in my heart that she was capable of keeping up with me the whole way, so I never let her out of my sight and encouraged her to keep running even when she felt like slipping back. I am soooooooo proud of her for believing in herself like I believed in her! And staying side by side helped us fly round both smashing our pb’s with a time of 1:39:06! At the end we were congratulated by some seriously fast male athletes, for keeping up with them, and this my friends is how you know you’ve smashed it! Girl power!

IMG_1113

With the sun beaming down on us, and a sea of like minded, beautiful runners, today reminded me why I love running so much, and I am incredibly grateful to be able to compete in such an empowering sport!

Find your tribe!

Lots of love,

Sophie x

I'd love to hear your thoughts

