ROOTED Nutrition Day

Yesterday was the first of many exciting events for me with my new Rooted London crew. An internship which I took on in May this year has now flourished into a job and I’m so excited to see where this takes me.

download

And so, I thought it would be lovely to introduce you to the latest instalment in the adventures of Soph and share with you a little about how we roll at Rooted.

Founded by the inspirational goddess Pandora Symes, Rooted busts all the stereotypical health myths and focuses on nourishing the mind, body, and soul. We provide off the hook, plant based catering for events, host supper clubs and parties, teach yoga classes, and lead talks and workshops in nutrition. All this whilst spreading the message of self-love and compassion, collaborating with like-minded people and ventures. Rooted is about making healthy food accessible to anyone with an open mind and a desire to listen to their body. You can see why I fit in well here!

IMG_3162

Never a dull moment, yesterday was no exception. We spent the day with a group of nutrition novices from Kings College sharing the Rooted philosophy in a fantastic little space called the Central Street Cookery School.

Whilst Pandora busted some myths in an empowering Rooted nutrition talk, I lead the group in a foodie workshop teaching them how to make some of our fave simple dishes.

IMG_3180

Starting off with raw, plant based pesto and courgetti spaghetti (sounds a lot more complicated than it is), then moving on to some sweet treat energy bombs, I felt like I was running my own Blue Peter show. And I loved it!! It was such a dream to share my passion for nourishing food and see everyone, even some of the most sceptical people, engaged in the workshop and experimenting with fresh fruits and veggies.

IMG_3181

For the pesto we simply blended cashew nuts, fresh basil, olive oil, and garlic, with a generous amount of salt and pepper. People were so surprised by how few ingredients were needed to create so much flavour and colour, so I hope this inspired them to adopt this philosophy into some of their cooking at home. It just makes so much sense to use a few fresh ingredients as opposed to a jar of sauce with 20 ingredients, some of which we can’t even pronounce.

The energy bombs went down a storm too! Like children in a candy store my groups adored creating different combinations with dates, apricots, cashew nuts, almonds, toasted coconut, raw cacao, and chia seeds. One group even blew me away and created a brand new flavour which I will certainly be trying out at home – peanut butter and apricot. Bliss. Hold tight for the recipe.

IMG_3178

IMG_3182

A long day but rewarding beyond words. Even if I inspired just one man to get creative in the kitchen with his four year old son, I’m over the moon. Keep your eyes peeled for more Rooted London adventures and nourishing recipes to come.

Huge thank you to the girls at Central Street Cookery School, you were an absolute pleasure to work with and I couldn’t have done it without you.

Go eat your veggies.

Lots of love,

Sophie x

I'd love to hear your thoughts

